When it comes to makeup, I especially have an addictive problem to lip products. For some reason, it behooves me to try and purchase every single red lip shade I come across. I had heard of Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics on YouTube for years, but didn’t actually jump the gun until they became available at my local Sephora where I could swatch each color to my heart’s content.

I became even more excited when I noticed that they had this set of four minis of shades that I could actually wear for $19, whereas the larger original sizes run for $18 a piece.

Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Mini Set of Four

Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Mini Set of Four Lip Tars 

The colors from left to right as described on the package: Memento (pink/plum neutral), Anime (vibrant neon pink), NSFW (true balanced red), Black Dahlia (blackened red).

The packaging itself leaves much to be desired. It is not the most glamorous, and the way each lip tar and the brush are positioned makes it rather difficult to pick out each one (especially the brush). I do not usually store these like this in the baggy, I just re-set them in the original packaging for the purposes of this blog post.

I like the tube packaging for each lip tar for sanitary reasons; however, it seems far too easy to squeeze out WAY too much product (which is very difficult to remove). Make sure you replace each cap tightly after using, or else the tubes and bag will get very messy.

The product itself is incredible. Each shade is magnificently pigmented, extremely creamy, and you literally only need a speck of product to cover your entire lips. And this color will last all day. Even through meals.

OCC Lip Tars

OCC Lip Tars

OCC Lip Tars

OCC Lip Tars

The dotted amount for each product is plenty to cover your whole lips. Although the colors of the swatches aren’t coming off quite true to life on camera, they are beautiful shades. NSFW especially, is the perfect red that will suit any skin tone. The lip brush that is included is actually quite good- it is the best of the couple of lip brushes I own, and I use it to apply all of my lip products.

If you don’t know much about Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics, they are a cruelty free brand who’s Lip Tars are their claim to fame. After perusing their website, you’ll notice that they have odd shades like pure white, blue, yellow, orange, and etc. This is because they are meant to be mixed together so that you can achieve the exact color you want. Personally, Memento and Anime are both too pink for me, but I have used them to tone down/up other lip colors I own and that works great. The red shade is my favorite of the bunch, and Black Dahlia works great for a Vampy lip look. Here’s a photo where I used all four shades to create Natalie Portman’s Black Swan lip look:

1380801_2069278982106_1035892473_n

It is a little difficult to see, but you get the idea, right? I started with NSFW on the middle of the lips, Black Dahlia on the edges, and a combination of Memento and Anime in the center.

The ONLY con I have found with this product is that no matter how careful I am, it stains my teeth. I’ve tried tissues, finger in mouth trick; nothing seems to work. This could be a fault of application on my part, but after reading other reviews and doing some research, it seems to be a common problem among users.

Finally, I’d have to say a set of minis is a GREAT value for your money, because I can’t ever see myself using any of these up due to the tiny amount of product necessary for my lips. Either way, this is a great product, and I hope you get a chance to try it out!

TLDR: Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar Set of Four Minis 

Pros: Extremely pigmented, very little product required for application, creamy, long lasting, good value for money with mini set

Cons: Very easy to stain teeth, easy to over-squeeze tube for product, can be messy

Overall Rating: 4.5/5 

 

