All the rage seems to be about facial oils right now. But if you’re like me and have extremely sensitive, acne prone skin, finding an oil that won’t cause breakouts can be troublesome. However, I have found that the Josie Maran Argan Oil Light is the perfect solution to my problem.

Josie Maran Argan Oil Light

Josie Maran Argan Oil Light

This is described as an “ultra lightweight version of the cult favorite Josie Maran Argan Oil Original.” Formulated without parabens, sulfates, and pthalates, Argan Oil Light has become a staple in my daily skin routine. It is a clear oil that has a very light fragrance. I have to admit that the smell isn’t the best, but the moisturizing effects this oil leaves make up for its lack in the fragrance department.

The packaging initially feels luxurious- a glass jar with a glass dropper to dispense the oil. I don’t really like the brown color of the jar because it reminds me of an old medicine jar. The worst part about it though is that the cap easily screws off (making it extremely easy for a person as clumsy as myself to repeatedly topple the bottle over and spill valuable product!). Because of the brown color, this isn’t something I’d be proud to display on my vanity, and the glass packaging does have its setbacks as it is not very travel friendly, but lets get on to the product itself.

I have tried the Tarte Maracuja Oil and various other facial oils- and although they did leave my skin feeling velvety smooth, they all came with the same problems-break outs and looking like a grease ball. This oil was quite different from the others- it absorbed quickly into the skin, and it DID NOT break me out! I apply it every day after washing my face and before putting on my foundation (the amount of time it takes me to do my eye makeup seems like just enough for the oil to settle into my skin). Using the dropper, I place 3-4 drops on the back of my hand and then used my fingers to dab it all over my face and quickly rub in; it sinks in to the skin very quickly.  I don’t need to use a moisturizer when I use this, but if your skin is extremely dry, you may be able to get away with using another moisturizer.

It retails at Sephora for $48 for a 1.5 oz jar- unfortunately, quite pricey for your average college student. Luckily, there is also an option to purchase a 0.5 oz online for $16. Personally, I tried this (0.5 oz) for free when it became a 100 point reward at Sephora, and I would recommend trying the smaller size before committing to the larger jar so that you know how your skin will react to it. I will be going out to purchase the full size of this soon!

TLDR: Josie Maran Argan Oil Light

Pros: Light weight, quick absorbing, sensitive skin friendly (no break outs), moisturizes skin, improves skin texture over time

Cons: Inconvenient packaging (glass), packaging easily opens, slightly unpleasant smell

Overall Rating: 4.5/5 (because of the packaging)

